Our DNA 

THE MEETING

Pierre Caizergues ∼ AOP Malepère (the guy in the baseball cap)

On a clear day, the Pyrenees in the distance seem almost unreal, and then the panorama becomes magical: welcome to the Malepère massif, nicknamed "La Petite Toscane" (Little Tuscany)!

Antonin Bonnet ∼ AOP Terrasse du Larzac

-"The Causses du Larzac have always impressed me - even though we're in the south, there's a mountainous feeling here - in ten minutes you go from oaks to conifers, from blistering heat to cool temperatures, from Gobelet-trained Grenache to sheep's milk cheese."

Meeting on 4 July ∼ the New York episode

First handshake in the vibrant East Village neighbourhood in the heart of Manhattan in September 2010. The ideas came thick and fast, and so did the wine! We talked about the Mediterranean and the future of the Occitan and Cathar territories in the South of France. We were two young people in search of the Languedoc dream!

OUR COMMITMENT

Resistant grape varieties ∼ the obvious way to go…

This new winegrowing area was a no-brainer for us. We have chosen to grow RESISTANT grape varieties to bring you natural, virtuous and eco-friendly wines. Resistant grape varieties require 10 times less treatment than organic - which means significant savings in energy, water and labour, as well as a much smaller carbon footprint.

Natural vinification ∼ wines of the future?

We were not dogmatic about it, but we decided to go for natural vinification. Since the organic grapes are so healthy and pure, we decided to vinify them with indigenous yeasts and not to add any additives or sulphites during the whole process.

Eco-designed packaging ∼ bye-bye aluminium!

We print our labels on paper made from alternative fibres, we have chosen lightweight bottles made in Albi, less than 80 km from the vineyards, corks from the Roussillon region and a wax seal instead of industrial aluminium capsules.

Nature under threat ∼ another year, another hive!

Every year we install a new beehive on the Domaine de Stricou estate. We are working to protect the bees, the most emblematic link in the chain of biodiversity, which are responsible for a large part of the pollination on the domaine.

THE WORK SHOP

A newborn winegrower ∼ a proud négociant.

We plan and blend each of our wines in the heart of the Languedoc region in order to bring out and showcase the terroirs of the South of France that we love so much. After all these years spent on Planet Wine, our vision is an ecological, humanist and planet-positive one. We work with winegrowers whom we know, respect and admire. We create tomorrow’s wines with complete transparency.

Blends from two skillful sets of hands ∼ tomorrow’s
wine

The art of blending different cuvées of wines vinified separately, either by grape variety or by terroir, requires real expertise. It involves blending and combining the different cuvées and adjusting their proportions to best complement each other. The freshness of one grape variety will balance the power of another, or the concentration of one cuvée will be softened by the elegance of another. The key is to look ahead and anticipate what the years might bring while respecting the particular characteristics of each vintage, grape variety and terroir. It is during this delicate phase that the wine finds its own identity. This is PIERRE & ANTONIN's hallmark signature.

en_USEnglish

Our DNA

Follow us

Notre ADN 

La rencontre

Pierre Caizergues ∼ AOP Malepère (le mec en casquette)

« Quand le ciel est dégagé, la chaine des Pyrénées au loin semble irréelle, le panorama devient alors magique : bienvenue dans le massif de la Malepère, surnommé également La Petite Toscane ! »

Antonin Bonnet ∼ AOP Terrasse du Larzac

« les Causses du Larzac m’ont toujours impressionné – on a beau être dans le sud il y a un côté Montagnard ici – en dix minutes on passe des chênes aux conifères, de la fournaise à la fraicheur, du grenache en gobelet aux fromages de brebis »

Rencontre un 4 juillet ∼ l’épisode New-Yorkais

Première poignée de main dans le quartier vibrant du East village, au cœur de Manhattan en septembre 2010. Les idées fusent, les canons aussi ! On parle du midi, de la méditerranée, de l’avenir du ce Sud de France Occitan et Cathare. Nous sommes jeunes et à la recherche du rêve Languedocien.

Notre engangement

Cépages résistants ∼ cela nous semble évident

Cette nouvelle aire viticole se présente à nous comme une évidence. Nous avons fait le pari des cépages RÉSISTANTS pour vous offrir des vins naturels, vertueux et écoresponsables. Les cépages résistants, c’est dix fois moins de traitement qu’en agriculture biologique – ce qui permet par conséquent une économie considérable d’énergie, d’eau et de labeur, ainsi qu’une empreinte carbone fortement diminuée ».

Vinif nature ∼ vins du futur ?

Loin d’être dogmatiques, nous avons choisi des vinifications naturelles. Avec des raisins aussi sains, nous avons décidé de les vinifier en levures indigènes et de n’ajouter aucun intrant ni sulfite tout au long du process.

Packaging Eco-conçu ∼ fini l’alu !

Tant qu’à faire, nous imprimons nos étiquettes sur du papier issu de fibres alternatives, prenons le soin de choisir des bouteilles allégées fabriquées à Albi, à moins de quatre vingt km de la vigne, bouchées avec du liège du Roussillon et cirées au lieu d’être capsulées avec de l’aluminium industriel.

Nature menacée ∼ une ruche de plus chaque année

Tous les ans nous installons des nouvelles ruches sur le domaine de Stricou. Nous œuvrons à la sauvegarde de l’abeille, le plus emblématique des maillons de la biodiversité. Elles assurent une grande partie de la pollinisation du domaine.

l'atelier

Vigneron nouveau-né ∼ négoce assumé.

C’est au cœur du Languedoc, que nous pensons et assemblons chacune de nos cuvées afin de révéler et sublimer les terroirs du Midi que nous affectionnons tant. Après toutes ces années passées sur la planète vin, nous avons développé une vision écologique, humaniste et bienveillante. Nous travaillons avec des vignerons et vigneronnes que nous connaissons, que nous respectons et que nous admirons. Nous produisons en toute transparence les vins de demain.

Assemblages de deux mains ∼ vins de demain

L’art d’assembler différentes cuvées vinifiées séparément par cépage ou par terroir relève d’un véritable savoir-faire. Il s’agit d’assembler les différentes cuvées dans des proportions savamment dosées cherchant la meilleure complémentarité. La fraicheur d’un cépage allège la puissance d’un autre, l’élégance d’une cuvée atténue la concentration d’une autre. Il faut pouvoir se projeter, anticiper les années tout en respectant les caractéristiques du millésime, du cépage et du terroir. Lors de cette étape délicate, le vin trouve sa propre identité, garant de la signature des vins PIERRE & ANTONIN.

Notre ADN

Suivez-nous